Minority Achievers Awards & Scholarship Gala

March 22, 2018

Sagamore Ballroom, Indiana Convention Center


Since 1979, the Minority Achievers Awards Dinner has allowed Central Indiana business, educational and community leaders to come together and recognize minority professionals who have demonstrated high achievement in life’s work and in providing valuable service to the community.

Additionally, the annual awards dinner has developed into a showcase of the significant academic talents and successes of “CLD Scholars” — CLD youth participants who have achieved distinction by being awarded scholarships from educational institutions for their persistence and diligence in realizing their intellectual and educational potential. In 2016, college, community and university partners awarded nearly $2.7 million in scholarships to 46 CLD participants. Download 2017 Press Release

 Check back to RSVP

Download RSVP Form Now
Download Event Invitation

Presented by 2018 Title Sponsor


“Gold” Sponsor – $12,500
“Signature” Sponsor – $5,000
“Achiever”Associate – $2,500
“Recognition” Patron – $1,500
Table Purchase – $750 (seating for 10)
Individual Ticket – $75 

Download Event Sponsor Form

Interested in being a sponsor for the event? Contact Ronald Brown at 317-923-8111 ext. 201

 Nominate an Outstanding Achiever Today!

 Nominate Now!


Accomplished Achievement Award:

Derrick Burks
Managing Partner, Ernst & Young LLP






Madame C.J. Walker (Outstanding Woman of the Year) Award:

Betty Perry
Founder and Artistic Director, Metropolitan Youth Orchestra, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra






The 9th Annual S. Henry Bundles, Jr. Award for Service to the Center for Leadership Development:

Joseph A. Slash
Founding Member and Secretary, CLD Board of Directors (1977 – 2014)



Distinguished CLD Alumni Award:
Center for Leadership Development Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award

Joy Mason (CLD ’83)
Quality Consultant, Eli Lilly and Company








Awards were also presented to individuals who were nominated for achievement in the following categories:

Achievement in Arts & Entertainment:

David Alan Anderson,  Actor, Indiana Repertory Theatre

Achievement in Business & Industry:
Shannetta Griffin,  Senior Director of Planning and Development, Indianapolis Airport Authority

Achievement in Communications/PR/Advertising:
Carrie Cline, Reporter/Anchor, WTHR Channel 13

Achievement in Education, K-12:
Dr. Shawn Smith, Superintendent, Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township

Achievement in Education, Post-secondary:
Robert “Coach” Johnson, Emeritus Track and Field Coach, Wabash College

Achievement in Entrepreneurship:
William Marquez, Founder of w/ Purpose, Co-owner of Design Bank

Achievement in Financial Services:
Lolita Chandler, Manager, IT Transformation Management Office, OneAmerica

Achievement in Professions:
Dr. Jerome Adams, Indiana State Health Commissioner, Indiana State Health Commission

Achievement in Public & Community Service:
Malina Jeffers, Director of Engagement and Operations, Midtown Indianapolis

Achievement in Science & Technical Disciplines:
Angela Freeman, Intellectual Property Attorney/Patent Attorney, Barnes & Thornburg LLP

“Up & Coming”Achiever:
Nicole Bell, Office of Inclusion and Diversity Lead, Honda Manufacturing of Indiana

Human Achievement:
Lakeysha Hamilton, Director of Outlets, Transportation and Warehouses, Goodwill of Central and Southern Indiana

« Back to Events